Research & Innovation Task Force

Ontario’s engineers are uniquely positioned to contribute exponentially to Canada’s R&I ecosystem. Investments will create a more innovative and dynamic business environment and modernize the Canadian economy.

The Research and Innovation Task Force strives to be ahead of the game. From revolutionizing cleantech to exploring the world of quantum technology, this task force believes engineers have a crucial role to play in our rapidly evolving future.

The task force is compromised of two working groups. The Cleantech Working Group explores innovative solutions that are sustainable, reduce environmental impact and improve efficiency. Some core initiatives of this working group include wastewater management practices and battery and electronic device recycling.

On the other hand, the Data Working Group explores the ethical and regulatory implications of rapidly evolving technology. They recognize that engineers are fundamental in the implementation of new technologies, and their recent work has explored artificial intelligence, quantum technology and associated privacy and cyber-security implications.

Research & Innovation Task Force Chair

Beatrice Sze earned her P.Eng. as a project engineer in Canada’s nuclear services sector, where she designed, implemented and oversaw repair work on CANDU reactors. After obtaining her P.Eng., she obtained a J.D. from Osgoode Hall Law School, with a focus on Intellectual Property Law. After being called to the bar in Ontario, Beatrice spent six years supporting Toronto’s legal and tech sectors through her law firm, practicing intellectual property law, general civil litigation, administrative law and privacy advisement. She currently works for the Government of Canada’s Ministry of Innovation, Science and Economic Development where she has worked as both an acting senior policy analyst and as a patent examiner. She joins this panel as a civilian through her law firm, Sze Law. Beatrice is currently the Chair of the Research & Innovation Task Force.

Research & Innovation Task Force Sub-Chair

Canadian Cleantech Working Group

Chloé Richard (she/her) is a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Carleton University. Her thesis focuses on the development of a life cycle analysis framework for battery modules in hybrid/electric aircraft. She is passionate about sustainable development and sustainable tech, and the creation of synergies between clean tech industries. Prior to her graduate studies, Chloe worked in building energy management, microfabrication, and organic electronics research in the public and private sectors.

Research & Innovation Task Force Sub-Chair

Data Governance and Privacy Working Group

Ryder LeBlanc is an accomplished data professional with a wealth of experience in data analysis, policy development, and engineering. He holds an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from the University of Alberta and a master’s degree in engineering and public policy from McMaster University. He has worked as a data analyst in both the U.K. and Canada and is currently employed with the Ontario Digital Service. Ryder previously worked with OSPE as a policy intern in 2021, and currently chairs the association’s Data Working Group.

Lucy Ukpong, MSc.

Research & Innovation Task Force

Associate Chair

Lucy Ukpong is a dynamic professional, bringing a unique blend of engineering expertise, fashion, sales, and management acumen to OSPE. Holding a Master’s degree in Petroleum & Gas Engineering from the University of Salford, England and a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from K.N.U.S.T, Ghana, she has a solid engineering foundation. Lucy has further diversified her skills through a Cybersecurity Bootcamp at the University of Toronto and an Associate’s degree in Fashion Management from George Brown College, achieving the Dean’s Honour List. Currently employed with Loblaw Companies Limited, she excels in Product Management, using data to guide the launch of innovative products for millions of Canadians. Her multifaceted background makes her an asset beyond the engineering realm, combining technical expertise with analytical and strategic thinking.

Kimberley Paradis, BASc.

Research & Innovation Task Force

EDIA Working Group

Kimberley Paradis is currently pursuing a JD at the University of Ottawa and holds a BASc in Computer Engineering from the same institution. Kimberley’s research interests centre on the intersection of technology and civil rights.

Kimberley is the Chair of the EDIA Working Group within the Innovation Task Force and a member of the EDI Task Force. In addition to this, she is an active member of the Board of Directors of the Community-Based Research Centre.

R&I Task Force Members

Adetunji Adeniran, PMP, MBA
Ahmed Amer, MASc., MBA, P.Eng., PMP
Andrew Arizaga
Cassandra Lee Taha, P.Eng, PMI-RMP, PMP
Changiz Sadr, P.Eng., FEC, CISSP
Daniel Cooperman
Duncan Stewart
Emanuel Corthay, P.Eng.
Feyisayo Enuiyin, B.Eng, CSM, CSPO
Hanaa Diwan, EIT
James W. Hotchkies, M.Eng., P.Eng.
Jane Ravenshaw, P.Eng.
John Wang, P.Eng, MBA
Mukul Asthana, P.Eng., MBA
Michelle Charlotte Liu, P.Eng, JD, MASc, LEED-GA
Nicholas Burgwin, P.Eng.
Peter Darveau, P.Eng.
Safayat Moahamad, LL.B
Sujoy Chatterjee, J.D.
Tibor Turi, PhD P.Eng.
Tina Dekker, JD, MASc

Please see OSPE’s most recent advocacy reports here.

Please see OSPE’s most recent submissions here.

Group of engineers looking at blueprint

Get Involved.

Interested in sharing your expertise? Email us at